Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast

Thread: *DIY E34 525iT M50 Auto to S52, 5-speed & 3.64 LSD Thread....

My Cars
    17 330i Touring M-sport

*DIY E34 525iT M50 Auto to S52, 5-speed & 3.64 LSD Thread....

And so it begins... Well, actually, it will as soon as my chip from Turner gets here.

Anyway - this is not a project for the faint of heart. Any one of the three is not too big of a deal, but to do the engine conversion, trans conversion, and rear-end swapperoo all at once is a rather large task. I have blocked about a week of vacation days to get the job done, and I suspect that it'll take every damn minute of that week to do it. And I've got 20 years of engine building experience and an arsenal of air-tools on my side...

To start - here is the engine. It's a '98 S52 out of an 80k mile M3 that found itself wheels-up. (Thus, the oil all over everything...) Its OBD2, which is why you don't see any of the intake stuff on there - I've taken it all off. To convert the car over to an OBD1 system, you need to use the old intake manifold (with the M3 injectors), computer, and other sensor bits and pieces... Also - buy the engine temperature splitter from Turner. It's $40. The S52 uses one sender to send the signal out to the computer, the M50 uses two. You can either drill and tap the boss on the block and add another sender (ick...) or spend the $40 and get the splitter. Drilling and tapping is the last option, IMHO, and should only be done by a machine shop.

You will also need to use the pickup on the front of the engine for the computer. The M3 computer / S52 uses a trigger on the back of the block. The good news is that all of the existing stuff from the M50 will bolt right on. You also need to swap out the oil-pan and while you're in there, swap out the pickup tube. It either bolts on or is tacked on - I'll snap a pic when I am in there.