Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Turbo setup for under $2500? Yes please.

My Cars
    BMWs

Turbo setup for under $2500? Yes please.

So everyone says its not possible to make a turbo setup for under $2500 or so... so many people are from the school of $4000...$5000....$6000+ dollars in turbo setup alone! Well, I created this spreadsheet with my motor build cost, turbo build cost, and consumable welding supplies. The turbo build comes in at $2473 if you have welding supplies. Add $153.50 on average for welding materials. Total motor build which is a refresh on a M50 non vanos with ARP studs and VAC MLS .140" gasket, is $712. To build this entire setup, which should support over 500hp if you really wanted to do that, costs around $3,339.07

http://e34.digital7.com/turbobuild.htm

My Cars
    z06 & Sierra HD
    very good! that is the way to do it!
    do you even know what a plethora is?

My Cars
    2K M Roady, '86 944T
    Nice Jon. I wish I knew about this before I started playing with my 2.9L stroker. Eh. Maybe this fall. Remind me to take a welding class this fall as well.

Rob - 2000 BMW Z3 M Roadster | 1986 Porsche 944 5.3L LM4

My Cars
    BMWs
    Spread sheet shows where the parts are comin from

My Cars
    2K M Roady, '86 944T
    Quote Originally Posted by UrineMachine
    Spread sheet shows where the parts are comin from
    I saw that. I am debating if I should just order the .140" HG from VAC, because even though half the people on here state that a 11.3:1 compression ratio is achieved through stroking only, there is someone in Japan that has done the stroking himself and is getting close to 12.4:1. Eh. I still have yet to get any of those front crank bolts off. I just can't get the thing to bulge. Any ideas?

Also, I was checking out your main page there, and the day you took the photos, 10/29, is my b-day. Weird.
    Last edited by Robstah; 08-02-2006 at 10:59 AM.

My Cars
    BMWs