Thread: ICV cleaning instructions for E39

My Cars
    01 740, 81 745, etc.

ICV cleaning instructions for E39

Okay, last weekend i cleaned my idle control valve because the car wouldn't start and hold an idle. a few others have had this problem so i decided to post some instructions to help you if you choose to do this. it can be done as regular maintenance too.

symptoms: car will start but not hold an idle and just drop in RPM until the engine dies. may also cause (auto) transmission to shift hard between gears. or the car is just idling or shifting poorly.

*note* i am not a certified mechanic. i'm not liable if you screw something up

tools:
    • 10mm deep socket
    • 2" extension
    • 1/4" drive ratchet
    • size 5 allen wrench
    • flat head screw driver
    • carb cleaner
    • cleaning rag

heres what the TIS instructions tell you to do (mine are more complete):

procedure:
    first thing to do is get the intake off. this will be a little different for everyone depending on if you have a stock airbox, store bought intake, or "frankenstein" CAI like i do. get the darn thing off. if you put it in you can get it out. make sure to disconnect the MAF sensor too. i disconnected mine at the rubber elbow and before my downpipe:

TIS procedure for taking out stock airbox:

disconnect the tube coming into the rubber elbow. pull on it. i found it easiest to reach under the intake tubing with my right hand. this tube goes to the ICV. remember that for later if you lose it:

next is to take off the throttle butterfly thing sitting in front of the throttle body. using the size 5 allen wrench loosen the two screws holding it on. the other screw is diagonal form the one shown. i disconnected the connector on top and set the part (still attached to the cable) to the side in the engine bay: