Page 1 of 9 123456789 LastLast

Thread: How easy to do clutch

My Cars
    Nissan Titan, M5

How easy to do clutch

Hey guys i have to get a new clutch but i also have to save money. I have a bentley and a hanes manual, how easy would it be to replace the clutch myself? I figure it will take forever but is it a pretty straight forward process? I have some mechanical experience (brakes and suspension).
    BFC Nikonian #1

My Cars
    1995 M3 - 1966 Mustang 2+2 - 2003 Z4
    It's fairly straight foward, but definitely set aside a full weekend to do it your first time. You don't really need any special tools, meaning you can get all the tools at Sears.
    www.understeer.com
    Your source for:
    Stromung|UUC|Eurosport|Hawk|H&R|Koni|Apexcone HID|Short Shift Kits|and more
    UUC Evo3 SSKs are IN STOCK - free 2-Day shipping!

My Cars
    Nissan Titan, M5
    Thanks for your help, you were the person i was hoping would answer! LOL. I have lots of tools so that shouldn't be a prob. How about getting the flywheel resurfaced? Do the books do a good job of explaining it?
    BFC Nikonian #1

My Cars
    Originally posted by cleoent
    How about getting the flywheel resurfaced?
    You can't resurface a BMW dual-mass flywheel. Do you have an air compressor and an air-impact? They'll come in very handy to take apart the clutch and to remove the flywheel (if you replace it). You'll also need to pick up a 20" long 3/8" extension.
    www.understeer.com
    Your source for:

My Cars
    Nissan Titan, M5
    Originally posted by bimmer95

You can't resurface a BMW dual-mass flywheel. Do you have an air compressor and an air-impact? They'll come in very handy to take apart the clutch and to remove the flywheel (if you replace it). You'll also need to pick up a 20" long 3/8" extension.
    Hmm... my neighbor does, so does my g/f parents, hand tools are a bad idea? 20" long extension, shit that is long, what the hell is that for?