Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: My Touring thread - 530it

My Cars
    E39, E38s, e46, lr3

My Touring thread - 530it

So I've never really posted any pictures or anything about myself or my car.

I'm 28, married, 1 kid.

I'm a BMW tech by trade, I do work at the dealer here.

I got my e34 for $800. Guy was asking $3000 for it. I drove to park city and found it on his driveway. It had dents, ran like crap and was dirty. I drove it and found it vibrated like crazy.

I offered the guy $1k for it. He said he had some other offers, but needed to get rid of it because of a divorce. I told him to entertain the offers if they were more than me and get back to me if they weren't serious. He called me back 2 weeks later, I went up there and picked it up. He told me he had some extra wheels in a shed that he never got around to messing with. Ended up being a set of e46 16", two were bent so I sold them for $200. It looked like this:

I cleaned it up, all 4 wheels were bent. (shimmy issue). When I checked faults I was plesantly suprised to find it only had faults stored for 1 02 sensor. I put a new sensor in it and it ran like a champ. He had no reciepts, but I could tell that it had an intake manifold re-seal, aluminum thrust arms and some other suspension stuff done. I ended up turning the front rotors (I know, but they were warped and like new) and putting new OEM pads front and rear. (OEM pads are something that I am very particular about)

I rocked the 17" wheels off wifeys touring, they got the rattle can treatment due to peeling. I ran them for one winter, re-did them gunmetal and spent more time on them and the wife rocks them now in the winter.

I ended up getting some 16" e32 750 wheels for winter ($200) and a set of style 5s at a salvage yard (200 for all 5, score!).