Thread: X3 Wind noise and Road noise

My Cars
    2013 BMW X3 xDrive28i

Unhappy X3 Wind noise and Road noise

Hi Guys,

I'm a newbie here with my first so a big hello to everyone!

I have an 2013 X3, 28 Xi. From the time I took delivery of the car, I felt that the cabin was not quiet and I could hear the road/wind noise. Is that a common issue with X3?

My Cars
    The X3's are a "cheaper" car than say an X5, 5 series, or 7 series. They typically have less sound insulation, and therefore will likely have more noise. The only way to know for sure if your's was excessive is to compare a couple cars back to back. Also is the sunshade open? They tend to make a lot more wind noise, as the shade acts as a sound insulator from the sunroof when closed.
    ASE and BMW Master Certified Technician

My Cars
    2012 x3i

Airamd outside sound noise.

I just got 2012 x35i, I have same problem,sounds like a door not fully closed. Passenger side only, drivers side ok. Any ideas?

My Cars
    2012 x3i
    Did you find a solution? I have same problem, going to dealer monday.

My Cars
    2006 BMW x3
    yeah this has been a downside to the x3. The road and wind noise (esp when the roof rack is on top!) are atrocious!

Has anyone tried any wind dams? I remember back in the 80's the 5 series had some really bad window whistling that was easy solved with some black plastic wind dams that hooked right onto the door. Maybe a similar solution could be used for the x3?

Hope this is fixed for the 2013 models

My Cars
    2013 BMW X3 xDrive28i

X3 Wind noise and Road noise

I picked up my 2013 X3 28i two weeks ago and I have the same problem with wind noise. It seems to be coming from the drivers side. I noticed the wind noise both at high and low speeds. I am taking the vehicle in on Saturday to have it checked.

My Cars
    2011 328i Sedan

X3 Wind Noise

Quote Originally Posted by Steve 63 View Post