Bavarian Soundwerks

Thread: Notes from Dice Mediabridge with DSP Install in E39 540i Wagon

My Cars
    2000 BMW 540i Wagon

Notes from Dice Mediabridge with DSP Install in E39 540i Wagon

I installed the Dice Mediabridge (less the spec dock, for now) in my 2000 540i wagon with the DSP option on the weekend and thought my experience might be helpful to others. I should mention that I am a total novice and not mechanically or electrically inclined.

Generally the videos BSW provides links to are very helpful and will guide you through 75% of the install specifics. Some point form notes from my experience:

1) Manuals - It took me a while to find the manuals for the DSP adapter because they were not listed on the page for the product I bought (Dice with Bluetooth): instead they were listed on the page for the regular Dice. Why would I look there? Even still, the manual was a bit confusing because...

2) Part Changes - The DSP adapter has changed and looks totally unlike the one in the manual. Important changes:
    a) Connect the Red wire to the Red/Green wire going into the amp.
    b) Connect the Black wire to the Brown wire going into the amp.
    c) Disconnect the coax from the amp and plug the DSP adapter directly into the amp, no extension or male / male adapter is provided or required.

3) 6 Pin connector - The manual refers to a 6 pin connector. If you have DSP then you don't need that as the DSP adapter provides for that once it's got power and connected to the amp via coax. I wasted quite a bit of time pre-install looking for the 6 pin connector believing it was required.