Thread: 92 318i Fuel gauge stays at empty

My Cars
    1992 BMW 318i E36

92 318i Fuel gauge stays at empty

I bought the car not too long ago as a project car. Now my problem currently is that gauge is marking empty all day long. Now it turns on the empty light. I did the instrument panel check and the gauge went up Nd down just fine. I am a automotive tech student at UTI and currently in electrical. I would like to know for any clues/ideas/fixes/recommendations/suggestions to fix this....if not possible way to use another sensor or a aftermarket solution. Any help would be appreciated

Thanks guys...love the forums btw

My Cars
    '03 Z4, '06 Forester
    Sometimes if the car has been refueled with the key in the igntion, the gauge screws up. With ignition on, try pulling fuse 31 under the hood for about 5 seconds ... see if that gets it back to life before you start replacing things.

My Cars
    1998 BMW 328i
    Same problem here. 98' 328i. Before, my fuel gauge use to flutter up and down and then back to normal, now, it stays @ empty w/ the orange warning light on constantly. Been driving like that for ..... 3/4 of a year now ...

I replaced my fuel level sensor (behind driver seat) and still nothing.

OP, if slocars' procedure does help, PM me, or if anything else works that you find out, PM me lol.

Btw, I have a feeling that I (and possibly you) may have a wiring issue thats inbetween both the pumps in the rear under the seat. When my dads' friend who's a mechanic played w/ the wires, the gauge shot up to about 3/4 fullish.

My Cars
    1992 BMW 318i E36
    Thanks soclar. I will deff be trying that today after class to find out. And will post the results.

@ihaveae36
    Yea possibly could be a bad wire I printed up the info for the proper resistance needed and will be testing the sensor and wiring.

My Cars
    1998 328 convertible

My Cars
    1992 BMW 318i E36
    @joylove so ur saying that its quite common that the wiring comes off the sensor?