Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: HANs VS. DefNder

My Cars
    2000 E39 M5

HANs VS. DefNder

Will be club racing this upcoming season and I am starting to research what I need for neck restraints. I usually see/hear people talk about the HANs brand devices. I stumbled upon a thread with DefNder gear in it and I have a few questions.

The DefNder seems better: its cheaper and provides lateral protection compared to the HANs Sport. What am I missing?

Is there any reason to not go with the DefNder?

Also anyone in the MI area have either a HANs or DefNder I can try before purchasing? I really want to get in and out of the car with both on to see how they are, and also feel how comfortable each are when strapped down.

Again, I have no experience with either of these neck restraints so all comments are welcome.

My Cars
    06 GTO, e36 race car
    I have a defNder.

- The additional tethers for lateral support seem like a good idea. Whether they are actually beneficial in testing is another matter. You would be justified in asking the vendor and manufacturer to provide data substantiating any claims they make about those tethers. Perhaps that data is already available and I haven't seen it.

- Unlike HANS, defNders have hooks over the shoulders to retain the shoulder harness straps. These probably help prevent the harness coming adrift in an impact (would be nice to see proof of this also). The hooks permit the use of 3" belts. OTOH the hooks do tend to catch on the buckles, impeding egress. On my todo list is coming up with some scheme with bungy cords to pull those things out of the way (I tried once and it didn't work).