Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Head gasket DIY 330xi?

My Cars
    01 330xi, Denali, CLK55

Head gasket DIY 330xi?

Found a deal on a 2001 330xi, it has been diagnosed as a bad head gasket from the local BWM dealership. He has great service history at the dealer and the car looks very clean. No water in oil, and no signs of overheating. He has told me it never overheated just runs rough and smokes out the tail pipe.

I am an experienced ex-auto tech with many tools, however I have worked only on domestic vehicles. Can soemone give me an idea how involved the head gasket replacement is on this engine? Problems commonly ran into or special tools or pullers needed?

I plan on having the head mangna fluxed and checked for true when removed.

Thanks and great forum BTW!

My Cars
    87', 89' E30, 04' S2000
    nothing special just make sure to torque the head using the adequate torque specs and pattern.

nathancarter is offline Stretch Haters Club #1 BMW CCA Member
    My Cars
    2002 330i 131k
    How does the dealership know it never overheated? It's very rare for the head gasket to fail without provocation on these engines... not impossible, just way, way less common than overheating. My guess is that the previous owner overheated it, then traded it in when they realized it was damaged.

Cylinder head removal does require a few special tools, and some care. The camshafts are hollow and can break if manhandled, and the VANOS (BMW's dual-camshaft variable valve-timing system) is a little finicky.