Page 1 of 13 1234567891011 ... LastLast

Thread: E36 5.0 V8 Build Thread

My Cars
    96 E36 Coyote 5.0

E36 5.0 V8 Build Thread

Well, I finally got my lower end back from the machine shop so I decided to start my thread. I have never even driven this car and I am new to BMWs. I have completed two V8 swaps into an 1985 S10 and 1999 Ford Ranger (pics of Ranger here: http://community.webshots.com/user/fendbass22). I wanted something different that wasn't a truck. I searched Youtube for V8 swaps and this one caught my eye. Found 1994 325i for cheap money with blown tranny.

Stripping down the engine bay to paint it calypso red. Thats the color I like best. Easier to paint now with everything out.

Taped off and painted.

Custom brackets I made on my homemade CNC mill. Moves the bracket up and to the right about 1.5"

Engine bay with new mounts. Clutch line and pedals installed. The car was an automatic. Bought pedals off another member here.

Back from machine shop. Forged Keith Black pistons, bigger ARP rod studs, rotating assembly balanced, punched out .030"

Heads and rocker studs on and torqued after checking piston-to-valve clearance. Trick Flow Twisted Wedge.

1.6 Rockers on and adjusted.

Lower intake torqued and covers hand tightened for now since I will have to prelube valve train before firing.

More for later.

My Cars
    1995 BMW 318is

Thumbs up

Nice, I'll be watching this closely as I plan on starting my 5.0 build later this year. Since it seems like you've really thought this out, I have some questions.

Did you make that bracket to accommodate a rear dumping exhaust?

What are you doing for a clutch?

How much power do you expect to put down?

Where did you source the motor from?

Thanks in advance

M5Hunter is offline Still has a E39 Supporting Vendor
    My Cars
    E39
    Cool, good to see another 5.0 swap.

My Cars
    97M3.4.5,EG,YZF
    This looks like a great build already! Can't wait to see more as it progresses.

My Cars