Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: DIY: Clean rust parts (in this case, brake calipers)

My Cars
    01 540i/6

DIY: Clean rust parts (in this case, brake calipers)

Please read the warning at the end before attempting this

The problem:
    I needed to strip my REALLY rusty brake calipers in order to get them powder coated.

The solution:
    I tried using my sandblaster (siphon tube from craftsman that is a great tool!) but the rust was so thick it took 1/2 hour just to get this far.

So, research time. I really didn't want to spend money to get them blasted since I have my own. I ended up stumbling across a web page discussing electrolysis. Being an engineer, I had heard of it, but never tried it. So I thought, "It's worth a shot!"

Onto the directions....

What you'll need:

Dirty parts (Will only work with iron and other metals. However DO NOT use stainless steel, the chemicals it releases during the reaction are toxic and illegal to dump. Also, it will not work with copper)
    Borax (sodium bicarbonate laundry booster)
    Water
    Rebar- for electrodes (or similar metal rods)
    Steel wire or banding - for connecting parts/electrodes (I used metal coat hangers)
    12 volt battery charger
    Non-conductive tub/bucket (cannot be electrically conductive)
    Clamps

Procedure:

1)
    Since the parts will be submerged in the water, I needed to make sure the brake rotors were sealed up so no solution could enter the piston area. I did this by leaving the piston and rubber boots on the calipers, as well as cutting the brake lines off of my parts car, screwing them into the connection, and then taping them off.

2)
    Prepare the tub:
    I used a 10 gallon rubbermaid tote for this. I used four pieces of steel rod as the electrodes. They were a little rusty, so I used the grinder on them before starting.

3)