Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: BC Racing BR-Type Coilovers Preliminary Review

My Cars
    Dicktone Limo

BC Racing BR-Type Coilovers Preliminary Review

Per a recommendation from member "ienjoydrifting", a top 16 drifter in the D1 series, I purchased a made-to-order set of BC Racing's BR-Type coilovers.

These coilovers offer:
    -"Pillow Ball" front camber plates and rear shock mounts
    -32-way damping adjustment (rebound/compression are NOT individually adjusted)
    -A threaded shock body for preload independent ride height adjustment
    -The ability to order ANY spring and matched damper combo (lots of choices here)
    -Custom length sway-bar endlinks
    -They look pretty damn cool:

More information can be found here:

North American distributor- http://www.bcracing-na.com/

Now, I'm no expert in suspension design/quality. But I have owned a few different brands of coilovers and am basing this comparison solely on that and information I've come across on the internet, mainly this very forum.

To begin I'll give you a rundown of my specs. I decided to mimic Chelsea's (ienjoydrifting) setup as the usage of his car and mine seemed reasonably close, and new springs and matched dampers can be had for cheap with little downtime if I choose to go a different route in the future. My spring specs are as follows:

Front:
    160mm length
    10kg (~550lb/in) linear rate.

Rear:
    180mm length
    10kg progressive rate

Now here they are fresh out of the packaging:

A shot of the front brackets, which look and feel pretty beefy:

Front camber plates/damping adjuster:

Rear shock mount/damping adjuster:

Part number/markings on springs:

Endlinks:

Spanners and an allen key for the endlinks:

Now, I took a shot for comparison with my last set of coilovers (H&R Street) next to the BC's: