Page 1 of 9 123456789 LastLast

Thread: FrankenBimmer E36 M3 LS 427 (a.k.a. Scooter's Vorshlag Beta)

My Cars
    1995 BMW M3 427 c.i.

FrankenBimmer E36 M3 LS 427 (a.k.a. Scooter's Vorshlag Beta)

I am Scooter Glass, driver, test driver, designer, project manager and owner of the FrankenBimmer M3 427. This thread will disperse our swap, testing and road race information on the Chevy LS V8 engine swaps into the BMW E36 M3.

I AM NOT A PROFESSIONAL FABRICATOR OR SHOP OWNER/MECHANIC (disclosure done). If you are not either, and you want this swap to be road race worthy...RULE NUMBER ONE...get some very serious help!!!!! THIS IS NOT A DO-IT-YOURSELF PROJECT...REPEAT THAT. You should also be very patient and ready to spend some money. If you do, you will be heartily rewarded. If not, get a 2003 Z06 Corvette...you won't be faster or have near as much fun...but you will be happier.

I run DE's...No Rules, Dude!!! I want to be able to build and run anything I can dream up. In the top DE class and instructor class I run in, there are lots of excellent drivers and serious equipment. FrankenBimmer's running gear / chassis / roll cage / safety equipment are all designed and built to handle 1000 rwhp. We started with 400 rwhp LS-1 engine...that is definitely not enough!!!! This is a no-holds-barred project to find the outer limits of the E36 M3, which I believe is the greatest and most forgiving sports racing sedan ever built.

Ran 2008 with a 400 rwhp LS-1. Currently swapping that for the HKE bored and stroked L92 (LS based) 427 c.i. engine with estimated 550+rwhp and 550+ rear wheel torque. We will start there and go up. Dallas Performance does swaps and fabrication and Eurosport Plano does sorting and race prep.

Test info, what works and what doesnt, track pics and in-car-video forthcoming. More to follow..........
    Last edited by cglass8444; 01-11-2009 at 12:25 AM.

My Cars
    2005 Mini Cooper S EB/B, 1985 318i