Autogeek.net Car Care Products
** 10% off @ Autogeek.net - PinnacleWax.com & Wolfgangcarcare.com - Coupon Code = clubmember
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How to: Properly Clay your Car

My Cars
    N/A

How to: Properly Clay your Car

LEGAL DISCLAIMER:

I AM NOT A PROFESSIONAL DETAILER, NOR DO I CONSIDER MYSELF ONE. I AM SOLELY A DETAILING HOBBYIST WHO IS CONSTANTLY PURSUING THE PERFECT SHINE. I IN NO WAY CAN OR WILL BE HELD RESPONSIBLE (MONETARILY OR OTHERWISE) FOR ANY DAMAGE YOU POTENTIALLY CAUSE TO YOUR CAR BY TAKING THE ADVICE GIVEN BY MYSELF IN THIS THREAD. IF YOU USE MY SUGGESTIONS YOU ARE DOING IT AT YOUR OWN RISK!

Seeing that I've been getting some PM's from people about detailing, I thought I would go ahead and post some basic "How To" articles. The third installment pertains to claying our cars.

Make sure you have thoroughly washed and dried your car prior to claying.

My clay of choice is the one made by 3M. They give you a very generous amount. Cut the bar in half. Take the half and cut it into 15 equal pieces:

2 for the hood
    2 for the roof
    1 for the trunk lid
    1 for the trunk rear and rear bumper
    2 for the rear quarter panels (1 per side)
    4 for the doors (1 per door)(if you have a sedan)
    2 for the front fenders (1 per side)
    1 for the front of the car