RM European Auto Parts
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: how to replace spark plugs

My Cars
    1993 GMC Sierra

how to replace spark plugs

hey I'm new to the BMW world and I have an E36 M3 I just bought. I just purchased the NGK platinum spark plugs and was wondering how I would go about installing them. Can anyone help me out with this?

My Cars
    87 325is
    First remove the engine cover. Then remove each coil and replace each plug, being sure to reattach the ground straps. If you find that any of the pugs are wet with oil you need to replace the valve cover gaskets in the immediate future.
    The car makes it possible, but the driver makes it happen.
    Jim Levie, Huntsville, AL

My Cars
    Z3 3.0i Roadster, E39 530i, Toyota Previa S/C
    jim is right. but for pictures and other "pointers" ... check out www.bimmerdiy.com and look for E36. there's more info there... good luck

My Cars
    99 M3 coupe
    It may help to tape the spark plug socket to the extension to keep it from slipping off the extension.

My Cars
    1996 328is, 2004 Audi AllRoad 4.2
    http://www.pelicanparts.com/bmw/tech...park-Plugs.htm

Buy a locking extension for the spark plug socket, if the socket stays in the plug hole, it can be tough to get out:

http://www.sears.com/sr/javasr/produ...seBVCookie=Yes

My Cars
    2001 1990 Mighty Max,...
    Make sure you torque the plugs to the correct spec.
    BMW LEVEL 1 AUTOMOTIVE TECH AT WEDGE KYES
    2001 525I.

My Cars
    1994 325i
    Do you need to disconnect the battery to install plugs?
    Current mods: Euro clears, Strömung exhaust, Cosmos Racing Intake, sound system, X-brace, DEPO Projector36 Headlights w/ DDE, Prolumen HID 6000K, M3 front bumper, M3 rear diffuser, paint matched sideskirts and rear bumper, TMS chip, UUC tranny mounts w/ enforcers, Bilstein PSS Suspension.

My Cars
    Subaru WRX
    Please remember to use copper antiseize (to avoid galling) and a torque wrench. No torque wrench? Its a good excuse to buy one.