Bavarian Soundwerks

Thread: I Need help with my custom setup

My Cars
    97' M3

I Need help with my custom setup

Ok, planning to do a setup, and so far what I have in mind is a JL setup. Looking for clarity and enough bass to sound good but not to blow my ears. So far, I've decided to get 2 12w6's. Do you think that's more than enough? Now, I'm not sure what kind of amp to get, like how many watts, etc. Let me know any suggestions on replacement of the stock speakers, tweeters.

Also, how do you guys feel about purchasing new products on eBay? Sound like a good idea?

My Cars
    Wuper Tuper Fuper
    mmm...do a search....mucho discussion on this aspect already

hmm after going through many many systems i've become a fan of a high end amplifier driving a high end subwoofer, and another high end amp on the mids and highs... i've been doing systems for about 6 yrs now and it's one of the cleaner designs i think. if you wanna chat more about this just reply back to the post.

My Cars
    1999 M3 coupe, 2004 M3 convertible
    I just put in a single 12w0 in my trunk this weekend. Its in a sealed box and is powered by a 125w Precision Power amp. Even with the single sub I have to turn the gain on the amp down to balance it with the rest of the speakers. Otherwise all I hear is bass.

I have a friend with 2 12" subs in his 5 series, and I think thats overkill for everyday listening. Even he has the gain on his amp turned ALL THE WAY down just cause its too much bass.

Anyway, just my 2 cents. good luck

99 M3
    coupe: Titanium Silver, Dove Gray interior. 5-speed manual
    04 M3 cabrio: Titanium Silver, Medium Gray interior. 6-speed manual