Thread: Best place to get a BMW oil change for cheap?

My Cars
    1998 540iA Sport

Best place to get a BMW oil change for cheap?

Hey guys, i just bought a 98 540i and I'm going to need to get the oil changed soon. Do normal oil change quicky lubes know how to change the oil in a BMW? If not what is the best place to get it changed, keep in mind I am a poor college student and I would rather not pay dealer prices. Thanks a lot for any input.

My Cars
    '03 E39 Wagon & '04 E83

Exclamation

How do poor college students afford 540 BMWs? I was a poor college student once, and I wouldn't have been able to afford a clapped out Corolla!

Why don't you do the oil change yourself? It's got to be heaps cheaper and you can do it just as easily. If you take it to a cheap place, they'll probably put the wrong sort of oil in it, and that'll trash the motor.

My Cars
    05 M3 ZCP, 11 335d
    I vote for your driveway too.

~AIM- liquidtiger720 ~ Josh M. ~www.jmscribble.com

My Cars
    potato
    your driveway - I've known too many idiots who know sh!t about working on cars that work at those quick lube places.

My Cars
    T4R LTD 4WD
    I also vote your driveway... It is fairly easy to do... Just get the BMW Synthetic oil, OE filter, and a new drain plug gasket from the dealer... This should cost about $30-$35. This is good for an entire year... Many folks here change it more frequently though.

My Cars
    1998 540iA Sport
    thanks for the input guys, ive thought about changing it myself but i dont have any jacks or anything to lift it up with.

PS grimpy, your car looks amazing, is that a 540i with M kit? also what wheels do u have? basically what all did you do to it, its sexy, i want to do that to mine!

My Cars
    T4R LTD 4WD
    Quote Originally Posted by frankthetank528
    thanks for the input guys, ive thought about changing it myself but i dont have any jacks or anything to lift it up with.