Thread: Hi I'm new here and to the BMW stuff. ADVISE!!

My Cars
    2001 BMW 325i

Hi I'm new here and to the BMW stuff. ADVISE!!

Hey everyone, I'm new to owning a BMW. I recently got a 2001 325i 5 speed. I love the car so far! I did have a 1990 300zx Twin Turbo. I am not trying to make this car fast or anything at this time. But I do have a few questions. First, when I first start the engine every once in awhile, white smoke comes out of the tailpipe. Is there any common problems with these cars that can cause this? Also when I first turn the car on and drive for a second, a orange oil light will come on for about 5-10 seconds then goes off? It will not come on until I turn the car off and turn it back on. Second question, Is there anything that I should watch out for with the car? Anything I should check out? Third, If I did decide to mod the car, are there any turbo kits or anything for this engine and car? I would have to get a new engine also because this one has 170k on it and I don't think it could handle boost. Last question, what are some good websites to get stock and performance parts for this car? Thanks so much for all of the info, I am new to BMW and am very excited to learn more about them!

My Cars
    2004 M3
    Answer #1 - Depending on how cold it gets where you live it is indeed normal for white smoke to come out of your exhaust when your engine is cold. It goes away as the engine warms up. Non stop excessive white smoke could mean that your engine is burning coolant. The most common cause to this is a bad head gasket.

Answer #2 - I believe that the orange oil light is normal. My car does it too and it is the same to pretty much everyone that I know that owns an E46. You're good as long as it goes away.