Thread: best way to get an oil change done...

My Cars
    2014 BMW X1

best way to get an oil change done...

Hi folks,

New BMW owner here.

What is the best way to get an oil change done for a new 2014 BMW? It seems to take quite awhile to do when done at a dealership as compared to a specialized oil and lube place. But OTOH I want the oil change to be done in a quality manner that preserves the car's condition. Where do people typically get oil changes done for fairly new BMW's--at the dealership or elsewhere?

Thanks!!

My Cars
    2008 M Roadster
    Best place to do it is in your garage.

My Cars
    2014 BMW X1
    Quote Originally Posted by swanicyouth View Post
    No it's not, at least in my case, because I'm not a mechanically inclined person and I'm not about to practice learning on a newly purchased car. If I had some old beater I might do so. I'm sure I could learn but a new car isn't what I want to be learning on.

Moreover doing it myself wouldn't give me documentation which I will definitely want if I ever sell the car.

I've spent enough money on the car that I want a mechanically competent person to be doing all maintenance, including oil changes. That person definitely isn't me. Whether it is the dealership or an oil/lube place is what I hope to find out.

Get it done at a BMW dealership. Not to hate on anyone at jiffy lube or any other places similar, but they will more than likely put the wrong amount of oil in the car and it definitely won't be a BMW approved oil

My Cars
    '03 Z4, '85 Subaru Wagon, '87 Suzuki Savage LS650
    As your oil changes are still free, I'd get it done at the dealership. If you wanted you could also go to an independent that fixes BMW's. Not all independents do work on newer BMW's, in fact only a small number do. Check out your regional sub-forum here, and look around or ask, and they'll tell you what independents in your area are good.