Thread: New member looking for advice

My Cars
    2006 Ford Mustang

New member looking for advice

Hey I just made an account and am looking for some advice from you all. I know you probably get these kind of threads all the time but I was just wondering if it is a good idea for me to buy a BMW with my situation. I am 19 and am a college student. I have spent this past week researching the cost of ownership regarding maintenance and repairs. I came across the site "Bimmer DIY" and looked over the wealth of information regarding do-it-yourself maintenance. Along with this, I have watched YouTube videos showing how to fix problems common to the car I'm looking at.

I have no car diy repair background other than oil changes but I feel I would be competent to do these repairs myself to save money. I also know a few mechanics very well who would be able to help me in the event that I need help. On top of all this, I work a lot and have a steady cash flow and think I could afford to pay for parts and trips to the shop for repairs I don't feel comfortable performing.

Now I come to you to ask if there is anything I have overlooked regarding what its really like to own and maintain a BMW. If it wouldn't be a good idea for me to get one at this point in my life please comment below giving your reasoning and help guide me in this decision.

By the way I am looking at a 2004 BMW 325ci listed below.

http://www.cars.com/vehicledetail/de...44/overview/#1

My Cars
    2018 BMW M240i
    Buying a used BMW with an automatic is a bit of a gamble. Why? These transmissions aren't known for the best reliability.

How many miles on the car? Does the car have a full maintenance history that includes at least 2 transmission fluid and filter changes? If you're reeeely interested in the car you need to have aa Pre-purchase inspection (PPI) performed by an experienced BMW mechanic who DOES NOT work for the dealer.