View Poll Results: What do you think my dad should consider?

Voters
49. You may not vote on this poll
  • Getting an M3

3 6.12%
  • Less capable cars

43 87.76%
  • Getting an M3, but being very strict about how I use it

3 6.12%
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: M3 lover with a skeptical dad! HELP :(

My Cars
    1997 BMW M3 Sedan

Unhappy M3 lover with a skeptical dad! HELP :(

I'm 14 now. I've been looking for a car for about six months now (Fixer-upper mechanical wise), searching through endless craigslist pages in cities multiple states away. I've been a car kid all my life, since I was about 2, I started drawing them, and fell in love! I've adored BMW's since right around there too (Different video games, relatives with BMW's, and their styling/performance all reeled me in).
    So my dad has a friend that works on BMW's and knows a ton about them, so my dad said "Well I guess your first car is going to be a BMW" (1991-2003) (The guy might be able to lend a hand) and of course I was happy jumping to conclusions thinking I was going to get an M car. About 4 months in, my dad's friend took me for a spin in his (1995) E36 M3 and I fell in love, once it hit 4500 RPM, the exhaust tone was heavenly, and I couldn't stop thinking about it! However that also happened to be the same day that the same guy told my dad an M car would be not a great first car, due to the lack of certain driving aids and how performance oriented they are.