Thread: Winter work completed: Dinan sub-frame kit and more...

My Cars
    '02 M Coupe

Smile Winter work completed: Dinan sub-frame kit and more...

I did my rod bearings last winter, so this winter I had the shop install the Dinan sub-frame reinforcement kit. Yes, I had dialogue with Mr. Forbes and read all of the vast content on this, but ultimately I wanted the work done locally in Calgary and no one here does Randy's kit. The Dinan dealer (RCTS) in town has done a couple dozen of the Dinan kits so I went that route. I did not have any signs of failure so this was preventative.

Dinan sub-frame reinforcement kit. $400 parts from Dinan + 16 hours labor. Includes a bunch of extra welding to beef up BMW's welds, not just the kit install. They had to pull the interior out from the trunk all the way to the dash (dash did not get pulled).

Initial impression - the chassis feels like a new car. Much more solid over bumps and cornering.

I sell software for a living, therefore I can't answer any mechanical type questions any of you may have.

Since the entire interior was removed, I had them install Dynamat through the whole car. Lots of work cutting in all the pieces, but they did a fantastic job. Way less road noise now and I no longer hear the Eisenmann "drone". Well worth the money for this!

The rear divider behind the seats has always been incredibly squeaky. They determined this was a bad stereo install and the amps were loose. The shop built new brackets to hold it all down better. No more squeaks at all.

They also installed my Motion Motorsports underpanel.

I am now ready for spring. Driving down to O'Fest in August.

Bruce

2002 M Coupe (built 2-2-2)

My Cars
    98 M Roadster