Thread: E36 Aluminum Door Panel Install

My Cars
    95 M3, 88 M3, 04 ZHP

E36 Aluminum Door Panel Install

Thought I would share my experience with this install since I have seen a few people ask about it. NOTE: Please be warned that I am an amateur at best mechanic and that half my car is held together with 3M tape and zip ties so my install may not be the best solution!

Tools:
    -Klein Tools 76011B Nibbler Tool- Amazon $21.69
    -45 Piece Threaded Insert Riveter Kit- Harbor Freight $14.99
    -Dremel (just to sand down the inner door handle hole)
    -Sharpy
    -Scissors
    -Drill (Large bit for starter hole for nibbler and bit slightly larger than 10-24 threaded rivets)

Materials:
    -(24) 10-24 Bolts (More if you decide to have more holes)
    -(24) washers for Bolts
    -Extra Nut Rivet Threaded Inserts- Ebay $11.50

I started off with pre-cut aluminum doors from Bimmerworld . The first thing that I did was trace the aluminum doors onto the cardboard that they came in and cut them out to the same size. I then taped the cardboard to the door and measured where the door handle is, traced it onto the cardboard, and then cut it out.

I then put painters tape on the aluminum door panels close to where the handle was to be traced on as well as around the edges (to be explained later), and then I traced the door handle hole from the cardboard panel onto the aluminum panel.

Then I used a large drill bit to drill a large hole close to the edge of the door handle hole.

I used a nibbler to cut the hole in the aluminum (could possibly use a Dremel). The nibbler simply takes small chunks at a time out of the aluminum fairly easily and you just go around the pre-traced hole. Afterward I used a dremel to smooth the inside down a bit.

I then put the aluminum door panel up to the door and marked where I wanted to drill with a pen (which is why the tape around the boarders are important). I then drilled through the aluminum and into the door at the same time.