Thread: New owner of Z4 M Coupe; is it worth extending BMW Maintenance?

My Cars
    '07 Z4 M Coupe, 350Z

New owner of Z4 M Coupe; is it worth extending BMW Maintenance?

Hey Guys!

I just bought a certified pre-owned Z4 M last night. I'm taking delivery today.

I come originally from MKIII Supras; got one up to 290RWHP. My current car is a 2007 350Z. Within a couple days I'll contribute what I can to the big thread about the 1-2 gear grind in these cars (I have some background and opinions based on what my restricted-bellhousing 350Z does).

At the moment, I have one important question: is extending the BMW Maintenance program for 2 years worth ~$3,000? The salesman pushes the value of it based on the expense of brake work alone on these cars. It would be great to hear some stories about what your Z4 M (preferably Coupe, but Roadster info is useful too!) has needed during your ownership, and how much you have gotten out of BMW Maintenance programs.

My car is a 2007 with an in-service date of 3/14/07, and has 24.5k miles on it. It is covered by the "new" warrantee with maint. for the next year, and then the CPO warrantee without maint. for another 2 years, so the extra cost is purely about adding maint. to the last 2 years. I don't expect to drive it a huge amount--perhaps 5,000 miles a year--which is another reason I am skeptical about the value of the program to me. However, it would be nice not to worry about brake pads for example, if people have found it to be accommodating and a license to drive hard. Obviously, I was warned it will not cover insane wear rates such as those seen with track usage.

Thanks!
    Last edited by iPhoneEngineer; 03-31-2010 at 01:54 PM.

My Cars
    '08 335i ,'07 MustangGT
    My 2 cents...if you're only putting 5k on her per year....pass

I drive the shoes off mine.

My Cars
    00 M Coupe, 08 335xi

My Cars
    '07 Z4 M Coupe, 350Z