RM European Auto Parts

Thread: Frozen O2 sensor reading Please help

My Cars
    02 e39 525

Frozen O2 sensor reading Please help

So i have been fighting an emissions problem for the past 2 months now when I have time.

Parts replaced are all OEM, except for the 02 sensors Which were Bosch O.E. type.

MAF
    Vacum Lines
    02 sensors
    Fuel Filter
    Spark Plugs (NGK iridium single prong)

DME codes
    Bank 1 fuel trim rich
    Bank 2 fuel trim lean

The issue that im having and cannot figure out is. According the a GT1 my bank 1 oxygen sensor is frozen at 0.4v and my bank 2 o2 sensor is functioning perfect with in parameters and fluctuating. Both sensors do work because I have switched the banks around to make sure it wasn't a fault in an o2 sensor.

Right now it seems that all things are pointing towards a bad DME. But I just wanted to get some other opinions in what could be causing this frozen o2 sensor.

I have also reflashed my DME with the most current software to remove that variable.

Thanks,
    Marc

My Cars
    E39M5, E500 4WD
    Marc, it occurs to me that if you were successful in reflashing your software, your dme is likely intact. (I'm assuming you used the GT1) I would ask whether you are reading the O2 output through a scanner, or direct connection?

"Bosch OE type" worries me, did they come with plug, or are they hand-wired?

The spark plugs are WAY wrong, you need BGK BKR6EQUP's, and nothing else.

I suspect a bad wire from the O2 sensor to the dme, if you're reading the O2 sensor via a scanner/ GT1, and a bad sensor heater or wiring job if you're reading direct When you say you switched O2 sensors bank to bank, and both are working, should I assume the same bank kept reading .4?

Have you read codes? Is the car going to closed loop?

ANYTHING to do with bad a/f ratios, I recommend a smoke test, always.

Chris Powell
    Racer and Instructor since, well. decades, ok?
    Master Auto Tech, owner of German Motors of Aberdeen