Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: 83 320i 1.8 Manual ? about tempature running over the 12 O clock Position?

My Cars
    83 320I 1.8 Manual

83 320i 1.8 Manual ? about tempature running over the 12 O clock Position?

Hello I am new at this so perhaps you could welcome me and give me some tips on how this works. I am happy to find a site like this...... Well I do have a question perhaps someone could take a stab at. I have a 83 320i 5 speed the problem is it runs hot a lot. The temp gauge will go over the half way mark (3/4) to be exact when sitting at a red light or when its hot. Is this normal for the E21's 81-83 for those years? If not please advise me as to what it might be. I have already gone over many things such as coolant flush, new radiator, installed new thermostat cooler Tempature (171F versus the factory 180F thought that would help it did a little). Everything else works great belts, fan, new water pump, wow the car is great no problems other then this one I am naming please advise me thanks.
    Dave
    Last edited by DavidCrevenston; 02-04-2010 at 04:47 PM.

My Cars
    73' tii 79 320i 73'2002
    normally i would assume thermostat... but if yours is new, i would assume radiator... but if you already replaced that and flushed your coolant, then the only thing i can think of is that maybe your gauge is reading wrong.

My Cars
    sold 78 BMW 320i
    The aux fan should be kickin in about the 1/2 mark to keep it cool. If the fan does not kick in - need to investigate it. I'm not sure where the sensor wires are on your model, and there is a relay in the fuse box as well. 3/4 mark when sitting is only normal if the aux fan does not kick in, and 3/4 is approaching too hot.

Do you still have the AC radiator installed?

Also, turn your heater on for a few minutes, let the engine cool, and check your coolant level again.
    Last edited by epmedia; 02-04-2010 at 05:17 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
    Tbd

My Cars
    83 320I 1.8 Manual