Thread: Water Pump Replacement Cost

My Cars
    528i

Water Pump Replacement Cost

So I was wondering if anyone has any first hand experience as to how much it costs to have a water pump replaced at the dealer?

I'm currently replacing my own water pump (plus other items)...but was wondering how much the dealer charges (parts & labor) versus what it will cost me doing it myself.

I'm trying to impress upon my wife how much money I'm saving her (or us) by doing it myself.

FYI...I've been doing my own auto mechanic repairs for almost 30 years...but sometimes the wife needs a little reminder every now & then as to the savings.

Thanks,

- Nick

My Cars
    1998 M3/4/5
    I did mine also. Figure a dealer is going to be at least $110 an hour. Perhaps a 2 to 3 hour job? Can't go by my time since it takes me a while. Maybe you're saving $300 or so?

My Cars
    2000 540i
    Just had this done this week at a dealer; was $1200, though that also included a new thermostat and belt replacement.

My Cars
    99 540i/6, 04 XC90
    Just had belts, waterpump, rear brakes, CDV delete, tranny and rear end fluids done with Royal Purple for $818 at my local mechanic.

My Cars
    528i
    Quote Originally Posted by herothezero View Post
    Just had this done this week at a dealer; was $1200, though that also included a new thermostat and belt replacement.
    Yeah...I'm also:

- replacing the belts
    - replacing thermostat
    - and repacking the grease in all three idler & tension pulley's

So I would say that $1200 dollar estimate would work for me as well.

Thanks a ton for your reply,

- Nick

My Cars
    M550iX, 540M-Sport, Scud
    I would simply replace the pullies and tensioners...that is what I am doing at 133k miles, along with every other critcal coolant part (radiator, water pump, fan clutch, expansion tank, coolant hoses, heater hoses, etc, etc.)

My Cars
    2000 BMW 528i msport