View Full Version : alpina b9 question and an intro


e34moneypit
03-20-2008, 11:44 PM
Good evening all, this is my first post here at bf.c. I've lurked for a while. I've been after an e34 for a while, but tonight I missed out on the deal of a lifetime and figured now was as good a time as ever to say hi. I was hunting the local listings on autotrader and such as always, and came across this listing.

A guy had this car that he didn't anything know about. An Alpina b9 3.5, cloth interior, all original, with an extra set of wheels, and the kicker, 81,xxx KM. He only wanted $5k obo!!!!! My jaw hit the floor, and I emailed asap. Turns out that in under an hour of putting up his for sale ad he'd received over a dozen emails with offers way over his asking price, so he's taking it down and researching what the car actually is before he sells it.

How much would you guys say its worth, anyways? It looked pretty much mint. No paint blemishes, all original, yadda yadda.

And hello!

Snork
03-21-2008, 01:42 AM
Well, if you look on the alpina registry, one is for sale for 4k pounds, so that might be an indicator. I don't know if the guy is legit, but it seems worth pursuing. Oh and welcome, new user.

e34moneypit
03-21-2008, 01:47 AM
wow. 4k GBP, and due to the MOT and all of that the cars are much much cheaper over there. m5's go for 5k GBP... and over here, much more than that. I hope it pans out. Seems to be a hell of a find.

Snork
03-21-2008, 01:49 AM
Oh it'll pan out... for me.

e34moneypit
03-21-2008, 01:52 AM
huh? what do you mean?

mkarkos
03-21-2008, 05:09 PM
Check this out:

http://www.mye28.com/viewtopic.php?t=45253

PMcD
03-21-2008, 08:33 PM
Check this out:

http://www.mye28.com/viewtopic.php?t=45253

Yes, well you beat me to that. It is a pretty pathetic scam if I say so myself.

Why the hell would the man's father who had it imported not tell him what it was? Pretty damn stupid if I say so.

e34moneypit
03-21-2008, 09:45 PM
that sucks. the "seller" from the atlanta CL ad sent me a picture of the ID plate which showed that it was #70. dunno if that matches up with the French restoration thread. if it does, thats awful.

edit: it does. lame. oh well.

Snork
03-22-2008, 03:22 AM
Damn, he totally had me going though.

vertvert
03-23-2008, 03:29 PM
I also saw that ad. I said the same thing WOW!!! There is one for sale in Roundel mag for $30,000.00