View Full Version : Scam?


DROPTOP325
01-15-2008, 11:48 PM
Hi guys:
I ran into this hottie in Autotrader and I was like :eek:, does this sounds like a scam to you??

http://www.autotrader.com/fyc/vdp.jsp?car_id=237341936&dealer_id=61864663&car_year=2002&num_records=25&model=M3&systime=&make2=&start_year=2001&engine=&keywordsrep=067079085080069&keywordsfyc=__Q09VUEU%2C__&certified=&fuel=&body_code=0&awsp=false&search_type=both&distance=0&marketZipError=false&search_lang=&make=BMW&color=&keywords_display=COUPE&page_location=findacar%3A%3Aispsearchform&min_price=&drive=&default_sort=priceDESC&max_mileage=&style_flag=1&sort_type=priceASC&address=38637&only_photo=1&advanced=y&end_year=2004&transmission=Manual&doors=&max_price=25000&cardist=1611

I sent an email to the seller and this was the response: (Any opinions?)

-----Original Message-----
From: PatriciaSymonds Symonds [mailto:spatriciasymonds@yahoo.com]
Sent: Tuesday, January 15, 2008 8:20 PM
To:
Subject: Re: Owner 61864663: AutoTrader.com: Vehicle Lead 2002 BMW M3

I am sorry for answering you with a little delay but I was pretty busy with work over here and couldn't get back to you sooner.I am very pleased to see you are interested in my vehicle.
I must tell you that I have moved for some time to London/United Kingdom with my work and the 2002 BMW M3 is here with me.
Some while ago I had tryed to sell it in US, like I do now and had a buyer for it. So, I came from London to US and arranged to send the car to him.It turned out after all that his bank loan was not approved and he didn't have the money to pay for it.I was very disappointed with this because I've spent a lot of time and money, so I decided not to sell it anymore and I've brought it with me to London.Now I realize that I have at least 5-6 good reasons not to drive the car here in London, and I have decided to sell it to someone from US, since the car is under current registration there.This car isn't made to be driven here because it is not suited here at all(in here we use right-hand drive).I have a Mini Cooper which is my daily driver here.I've tried selling the car here but after visiting a few dealers they all recommended me also to sell it elsewhere than UK (the first option to be US).So, after thinking through I decided to sell the car back in US (I could use the money for it right now as I am kind of short and the price I want to obtain for the car is $15,200)
I know this task will be difficult to me after the past experience so this time I decided to protect myself so financial part of this deal will be managed by eBay Purchase Protection.In this case we will use eBay as a independent company and they will act for our both safety and comfort.
If you are interested to buy the car and you want more details about the procedure please reply me back.

Peter Symonds

sellyourcar@autotrader.com wrote:
***VEHICLE LEAD***

The following lead was generated from AutoTrader.com's web site at http://www.autotrader.com. The listing is provided by AutoTrader magazine.
To view the vehicle, click the link below:
http://www.autotrader.com/fyc/vdp.jsp?car_id=237341936


VEHICLE INFORMATION
Make: BMW
Model: M3
Year: 2002
Price: 15200
Mileage: 92800
Body Style: Coupe
Color: Blue
Cylinders: 6 Cylinder Gasoline
Transmission: Manual
Doors: Two Door
Stereo: Unavailable
VIN: WBSBL93442JR13451

What do you think??

soundscribe
01-15-2008, 11:54 PM
It's a scam. An advance fee fraud scam.

GeorgeM3SMG
01-16-2008, 06:14 PM
Scam. If his name was "Afmad Hayed" or "Sanji Rashneesh" (no offense to any non-US residents) I'd let it go but his sentence structure, misspellings, and word choice are off for "Peter Symonds", even if he's English.

"I am very pleased to see you are interested in my vehicle" vague followed by "and the 2002 BMW M3 is here with me" very specific. Have you ever heard someone refer to their personal, enthusiast level vehicle by year/make/model when everyone already knows what it is? "the M3 is here with me" is what a non-scammer would say.

dcf
01-16-2008, 06:37 PM
Scam. Who would ship an '02 M3 back and forth across the Atlantic? It just is not worth it. I love my 2002 M3, but would not be shipping it back and forth.

thirtyhourpunch
01-16-2008, 08:21 PM
I went through a similiar situation when I was going to buy an 97 Nsx. The guy wanted me to wire the money and he was gonna pay to airship the car back to the us. I asked the guys at nsxprime.com and a bunch of guys told me not to have any further contact since it was a scam. After all that, someone from the Ukraine and Poland tried to break into my bank account online. So to sum it up, pass on it and wait for a car Stateside.
Scam. Who would ship an '02 M3 back and forth across the Atlantic? It just is not worth it. I love my 2002 M3, but would not be shipping it back and forth.

Ingenere
01-17-2008, 01:51 AM
Sounds like a scam, but if you are still interested in the car....contact a BMW dealer in the UK and have them inspect it. If its a real deal, the seller will agree.

If the car checks out, I would fly over and do the deal, and with the money that I saved, have a driving vacation for a week or two around Europe before I sent it home.

gobabygo
01-17-2008, 07:53 AM
scam but ditto.....Sounds like a scam, but if you are still interested in the car....contact a BMW dealer in the UK and have them inspect it. If its a real deal, the seller will agree.

If the car checks out, I would fly over and do the deal, and with the money that I saved, have a driving vacation for a week or two around Europe before I sent it home.