View Full Version : Potential Buyer or Scam?


AMBERROOT
09-28-2007, 09:50 PM
Hey guys,

Received a text message last night... responded to the listed email regarding interest in my car on Autotrader....

Please take a look and advise if you think this is for real. I'm sure there is someone here on the forum that can qualify this. Unfortunately, this is my first online sales endeavor...

So I get an email reply, Subject: stating the following:

ANTHONY BURROWS
Department of Motor Vehicles
CPD Information Services Branch
PO Box 942890
Sacramento, CA 94393
Thanks for your urgent reply. Please I have a client who is
very much interested in buying your vehicle. He
happened to budget for a car last time and
unfortunately it was sold. I have discussed with him
and he has agreed that he will be willing to have the
vehicle shipped to Canada upon reaching an agreement
with you.
Please I have Some Questions to Ask:
1) Is the engine in perfect condition?
2) How often do you service the Vehicle?
3) How many miles on the Vehicle now?
4) Are you the owners?
5) If yes, for how long did you use Vehicle?
6)Finally At what price are you willing to sell this
Vehicle to Us ...Bottom price.
Below is my client's information
MAJ .Schneider Adams
454 2nd RD E,
Stoney Creek,
ontario L8J 2X9.
Phone Number (206)3331252

kromdom
09-28-2007, 10:21 PM
this has SCAM written all over it.

A DMV??? acting as an agent for a buyer???

NiTe740iS
09-28-2007, 10:28 PM
Total scam. The next request you receive from this guy will be to ask if they can send you a cashiers check for substantial amount more than your car, have you cash the check and send them the difference. Once you comply, they'll take the money and run. A few days later your bank will realize that the check is fraudulent and you'll be responsible for paying the money back to the bank, as the real crooks will be long gone.

Check snopes.com for more info on these internet sales/check fraud scams.

AMBERROOT
09-28-2007, 10:47 PM
Thanks... It certainly didn't look right to me either.

Much appreciated!

sleepy740
09-28-2007, 10:48 PM
SCAM!!!!!

was it a co.uk email???

total scam....

now youre gonna get a whole bunch of emails asking if you want to enlarge your penis.

:(

AMBERROOT
09-28-2007, 11:03 PM
Nite, thanks for the snopes.com link, very similar. Hopefully this thread and link will hepl others too.

I guess I'm on the cusp of bieng an old fart, as the text message apeared to be legit. I did wonder at the time why the guy did'nt just call me to discuss.

Timing couldn't be better though, internet service and email change was already scheduled for Monday.

AMBERROOT
09-28-2007, 11:06 PM
The email was Yahoo.com... not U.K. or Africa. I think thats what made the text msg look so believable.