View Full Version : Sway Bars - Hollow or Solid

KozanBMW
03-24-2005, 03:00 PM
Which is stronger and why?

Thanks,
Steve

RRSperry
03-24-2005, 03:34 PM
Given reasonable wall thickness, hollow is stronger. It's an engineering thing...

Which means, I'm too lazy to break out an old text book and look.

Max M3
03-24-2005, 03:44 PM
Given reasonable wall thickness, hollow is stronger. It's an engineering thing...

Which means, I'm too lazy to break out an old text book and look.

Yes, it's a physics thing....
If two bars are the same outside diameter, and same material, the tube will always be stronger than the solid bar.

KozanBMW
03-24-2005, 04:08 PM
How.. i dont see it.

BMW M Power
03-24-2005, 05:01 PM
i'm not an engineer, but i was always under the impression that a solid bar has 1 outside edge, whereas a hollow bar has 2 "outside edges" thus creating more surface area for added strength.

someone please correct me if i'm wrong.

hc1001
03-24-2005, 05:28 PM
hollow is also lighter.

RRSperry
03-24-2005, 05:32 PM
Ya made me go look it up didn't ya...

Maximum shear stress (tm)=(Torque [T])/Polar moment of inertia (Ip)
tm=T/Ip

substituting r=d/2 and Ip=Pi*d^4/32 you get
tm=(16T)/(pi*d^3) for a solid bar

For a hollow shaft, Ip =(pi*r^4)/2

Assume an inner raduis of .6r for the tube.
for the solid bar, the Ip = .5*pi*r^4

and for the tube Ip= (pi*r^4)/2 - (Pi*(.6r)^4)/2
= .4352*Pi*r^4

therefor the ratio of tm is .5/.4352 = 1.15 or, more plainly, the tube is 1.15 times stronger than a solid shaft, given the same outer diameter, and material.

Not only are they stronger, they are lighter too.

denverlicious
03-24-2005, 05:35 PM
ok what you just showed me looks like ancient hebrew to me. is there a simpler explanation haha. basically hollow is better right?

RRSperry
03-24-2005, 05:49 PM
God I love having an engineering degree...

Jean-Claude
03-24-2005, 05:53 PM
Now you know for a fact no one knows what the heck you are talking about. :rolleyes

tm=T/Ip

= .4352*Pi*r^4