View Full Version : great deal on rims..


dragoon101
09-08-2004, 01:43 PM
i saw these on ebay.. i think it's a great price for these wheels.. the same ones i have, except in 19x8.5 all around. no bids with a starting bid of $600. not too shabby.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=7920185687

Reed Hunt
09-08-2004, 02:01 PM
Wow - a hell of a price in fact. And I agree, the Hartge Classic is, well, a classic look on the E38.

Not for everyone, but I think they look great. Too bad my wife doesn't like the "bolts" look...

DaveClement
09-08-2004, 03:50 PM
CAUTION, THIS "COULD" BE A SCAM. The seller has an eBay member for only a few weeks and he has only one feedback rating from an private auction. The person giving the feedback has a zero feedback rating.

I'm not saying that it "is" a scam, but I'd think carefully before sending a big wad of cash to an unknown seller for a deal that is "too good to be true".

Reed Hunt
09-08-2004, 04:07 PM
CAUTION, THIS "COULD" BE A SCAM. The seller has an eBay member for only a few weeks and he has only one feedback rating from an private auction. The person giving the feedback has a zero feedback rating.

I'm not saying that it "is" a scam, but I'd think carefully before sending a big wad of cash to an unknown seller for a deal that is "too good to be true".

True, it's possible.

They were also originally for an E39, so hub adapters would be required for the E38...

dragoon101
09-08-2004, 04:09 PM
CAUTION, THIS "COULD" BE A SCAM. The seller has an eBay member for only a few weeks and he has only one feedback rating from an private auction. The person giving the feedback has a zero feedback rating.

I'm not saying that it "is" a scam, but I'd think carefully before sending a big wad of cash to an unknown seller for a deal that is "too good to be true".

hm... you could be right. But if I was to take a guess, I'd say it isn't a scam just comparing it to another wheel auction I saw awhile ago that DID turn out to be a scam. The scam auction listed HRE wheels for a ridiculously low price and almost no description, no selling history, etc.

In this hartge auction, they're listing wheels that really aren't worth that much to begin with ($2000), and they listed the compatibility/specs, thereby narrowing their market.

The hartge's I bought on ebay were listed in the same manner.. vague descriptions, little selling history.. kind of a gamble at first blush.. but the seller was local to me so I had arranged to pay him in cash when i picked em up. So maybe this is only a good deal for someone local to the guy in New York.

but still worth being cautious.

dragoon101
09-08-2004, 04:10 PM
True, it's possible.

They were also originally for an E39, so hub adapters would be required for the E38...

forgot about that. I had to buy extra hub adapters from a local Hartge supplier. I think they were the orange-colored ones.

Reed Hunt
09-08-2004, 04:15 PM
forgot about that. I had to buy extra hub adapters from a local Hartge supplier. I think they were the orange-colored ones.

Though I think that Hartge does also make their Classic wheel for the E38...correct?

dragoon101
09-10-2004, 12:25 PM
Though I think that Hartge does also make their Classic wheel for the E38...correct?

yes. The hartge classics I have were made for both the 5-series and 7-series. They came with 2 sets of hub adapters.. but the guy i bought mine from lost the 7-series ones so i had to buy them.